Domestic Violence Attorney in Colorado Springs
Providing Aggressive Representation for the Accused in Colorado
If you have been arrested for domestic violence, you need a defense attorney who goes above and beyond to protect the rights of the accused. When you turn to Gaddis Law, our Colorado Springs domestic violence lawyer can give your case the attention that it demands. Your best interest is our priority, and your freedom is our pursuit.
When Domestic Violence Applies
In Colorado, domestic violence laws apply to cases where one individual threatens or performs an act of violence upon another person with whom they share or have shared an intimate relationship. An intimate relationship is based on either a romantic attachment or shared parental status.
The various types of intimate relationships include those between:
- Current or former spouses
- Current or former unmarried couples
- Parents of the same children
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Colorado
According to Colorado law, domestic violence is not a crime in itself, but rather a sentencing enhancement. This means that a domestic violence charge can be added to an underlying criminal charge.
Common crimes which can include a domestic violence enhancement include:
- Child abuse
- Elder abuse
- Sexual contact
Colorado is a mandatory domestic violence arrest state. That means any time police suspect domestic violence, they must arrest the aggressor, regardless of whether or not the victim wishes to press charges. The charge results in a mandatory restraining order. Violating the restraining order is a misdemeanor, punishable by up to 18 months in jail and a $5,000 fine.
If convicted, the offender may be ordered to complete a domestic violence treatment program. A judge may also choose to extend the duration of the protective order. A fourth conviction of domestic violence is a class five felony resulting in one to three years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000 to $100,000.
How Many Years Can You Get For Domestic Violence?
A domestic violence conviction in Colorado is penalized according to the underlying offense (for example assault). You may also be required to complete a treatment program and evaluation.
If you are a repeat domestic violence offender, you could even face a Class 5 felony which can result in four years in prison. Ultimately the amount of jail time you can receive depends on the circumstances surrounding your case.
How Do You Defend A Domestic Violence Case?
Some common defenses for domestic violence cases in Colorado include:
- Self defense
- The defendant was falsely accused
- It was an accident
A Colorado Springs domestic violence attorney can help craft the right defense for your case. Don’t hesitate to speak with us today about your defense.
Let Us Guide You Through the Process
With so much at stake, take the first step in your defense by consulting with our Colorado Springs domestic violence attorney at Gaddis Law. We have the necessary knowledge and experience to help you navigate this difficult time and ensure your rights remain protected.
“Fortunately someone recommended Aaron Gaddis and he turned out to be a life saver.”- David
“Aaron was personally available to me on his cell phone throughout the period I worked with him.”- Patrick
“I ended up not having to go to either trials, they were vacated. Thank you Gaddis law!”- Anonymous