Your Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney
Have you been charged with driving under the influence? Our Colorado Springs DUI attorney at Gaddis Law is here to help. It is possible to defeat a DUI charge, and we have the track record to prove it. Our experienced legal team has worked on hundreds of cases and knows how to help you build a strong defense.
First-Time DUI in Colorado
In Colorado, motorists who operate a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or higher can be charged with a DUI. This is a misdemeanor offense that can result in serious consequences.
The penalties for a first-time DUI include:
- A maximum fine of $1,000
- Five days to one year in jail
- Nine-month license suspension
- Up to 96 hours of community service
- Mandatory alcohol education classes
Subsequent DUI convictions will result in harsher penalties. Stiffer punishments are also given for those who have a BAC of .15% or above. The increased consequences may include the installation of an ignition interlock device for up to two years.
The 7-Day Rule
After a DUI arrest, law enforcement confiscates the motorist’s driver’s license and issues a temporary permit that is valid for seven days. The driver then has seven days to request a DMV hearing to fight to keep his or her license. Failing to do so will result in an automatic suspension.
Don’t Risk Your License
A DUI is a serious criminal charge that can have a severe and long-lasting impact on your future. Our Colorado Springs DUI lawyer has a range of potential defenses to choose from to help you fight your charges.
“Fortunately someone recommended Aaron Gaddis and he turned out to be a life saver.”- David
“Aaron was personally available to me on his cell phone throughout the period I worked with him.”- Patrick
“I ended up not having to go to either trials, they were vacated. Thank you Gaddis law!”- Anonymous